Christmas day is almost over

I am finally in bed and ready to relax.
Not that I did much today haha.
My niece woke me at 6am telling me it was Christmas Day while clapping her hands and bouncing up and down. It was quite cute.
So we got up and opened presents. After that I made breakfast and we all had a lovely breakfast of egg, ham and toast. The ham wasn’t as salty as previous hams I have had, so that was good.

After breakfast we all went back to bed. (well, it was a little while after… maybe 10am or so). I woke up at 1pm. (I didn’t sleep much last night) I got up and made lunch for everyone (just my normal, every day lunch) and then we watched Miracle on 34th Street. While we were watching that I also went and put the turkey in the oven.

Half way through cooking the turkey I was hot and felt like it was too much and I was almost going to say that we needed to just keep the tradition of having McDonald’s alive and get that. But I forced myself to cut up the potato and veggies and continue making the food. I was very happy in the end that I did persist because dinner was so delicious!! Everything was perfect. My niece kept going on and on about how wonderful I was and my mum told me she was really proud of me for making such a great meal.

IMAG4381.jpg

This was my food (i probably had too many potatoes but I counted them)

IMAG4377.jpg

This was the platter of food. We had heaps of leftovers.

After dinner we had dessert – I had a nectarine and my mum and niece had a mango. We were very happy with that (at lunch we ate strawberries for our dessert).

Later in the night I was really tired from cooking in the heat (the actual temperature wasn’t too high, it was a bit humid but the breeze was nice. The kitchen was boiling hot though and there is no window in there so you don’t get any relief.) My niece gave me a Flake for Christmas….. (chocolate bar for those who don’t know) I was actually a little annoyed that she bought me chocolate when she knows that I am doing weight watchers… I was going to put it away for another day but I thought I would have it today as I had been so good – followed my menu completely. The Flake (by cadbury) was 8 sp… That is quite ridiculous but I had 18 points leftover – so I thought it would be fine. I did not enjoy it at all. It was so sweet that it made me feel a bit sick. I don’t remember the last time I had chocolate (or any sugar actually) and I can honestly say that I do not miss it at all. I was reminded of the girl I was who hated chocolate and couldn’t eat a full  Mars bar because it was too sweet.

I am glad it is gone though as I know it would have spoken to me. I don’t want anymore though, that’s for sure.

Tomorrow is Boxing Day. My nephew is no longer coming for dinner tomorrow. His flight from Ayers Rock (Uluru) was cancelled so he had to spend another night up there in the Northern Territory. He’s on his own, so that sucks for him… But he can come over another night for dinner.

Okay – time for bed for me now. I’m really proud of myself tonight though. I did what I said I was going to do and I am starting to look forward to Thursday now so I can see how I’ve done (part of me wants to weigh in before I go, but I won’t… That will spoil the surprise).

Until next time

Lose it Em

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas day is almost over

Leave a Reply

